Skip to main content

O'Kelly Library Orientation: Service Areas

This libguide will take you through some of the many services offered here at O'Kelly Library.

Library Service Desks

The WSSU Archives is located on the First Floor, East Wing of the C.G. O’Kelly Library. Archives is tasked with collecting and preserving the rich history of WSSU, as well as the university community. Part of this preservation is making available online, historically significant collections. These collections include the WSSU Yearbooks, The News Argus, Commencement Programs and other publications produced by WSSU.

Archival collections can be accessed by visiting WSSU Archives or via O’Kelly Library’s web page.

The Circulation Desk is located on the First Floor, West Wing.

Ram Card Registration

It is important to bring your Ram Card with you to the library. Make sure to register Ram Card at the Circulation Desk in order to use library resources and services. If your contact information changes at all, please remember to let the library staff know so that they may better assist you. If you get a new Ram Card, inform the library staff that you are using a replacement ID, so that it may be updated in the system. Cancel the lost card so there is only one current record for your information.

Book Check-in & Checkout

To checkout books from O’Kelly Library, you will need your Ram Card. You must checkout books in person at the circulation desk. Patrons can renew books one time online or by calling the Circulation Desk. After exhausting renewal options, the books must be returned. Books may then be checked out and renewed again in the same manner. This can be done the entire school year as long as you are enrolled. Books can only be renewed if they are not overdue.

Fines & Fees

The library charges overdue fines to encourage prompt return of materials, thereby increasing their availability to patrons. The Circulation Staff regulates fines depending on lateness. If materials are overdue an additional processing fee is posted. Patrons with late library materials receive notices in their WSSU e-mail in-box.

Charges can be avoided by returning materials on time or before their due date, so that they are not declared overdue or lost by the Innovative Interfaces Online System. All fines and charges must be paid before registration and graduation.

Cash only is accepted for fines & fees and processing fees cannot be reduced once they have been posted to a patron’s account because of late or lost charges. Please contact Circulation to inquire about late and processing fees.

The Information Commons Desk is located on the First Floor, West Wing.

At this desk, the cross trained staff assist students and faculty with software and research information needs. Computer programs such as Windows Movie Maker and Microsoft Office Suite are available on the computers in this area.

In Information Commons, patrons can collaborate on group activities and assignments using one of the several widescreen LCD Display Panels in this area or by using our MediaScape tables.

Other materials, such as USB headsets, microphones and headphones, can be checked out in this area using a Ram Card.

DVD/Video Checkout

Popular DVD’s can be checked out for three (3) days. WSSU students, faculty and staff may checkout popular DVD titles. Only faculty members can checkout educational DVD’s and videos.

Failure to return materials after the allotted three (3) day checkout will result in account suspension for a minimum of 45 days and possible fines.

The Media Center closes 30 minutes before the rest of the library.

The Media Production Lab is located on the 2nd floor, West Wing, room 215.

This lab, originally designed for Mass Communications and Fine Arts students, is geared towards students who have more advanced audio-visual projects to work on and have experience in using advanced software for audio and video editing, photo manipulation, desktop publishing and animation.

Lab users must sign in for each visit and meet certain requirements to use the computers and software. Walk-ins are welcome but appointments are preferred.

The lab features Apple Mac Pro workstations with dual monitors, Dell workstations with dual monitors and a sound recording booth. Apple and Dell laptops are also available for use (within the lab only).

Available software includes:

  • Adobe Creative Suite (several versions)
  • Avid Express Pro
  • Final Cut Pro (several versions)
  • Windows Live Movie Maker
  • iLife Suite
  • AutoDesk Maya
  • Poser

Media Lab Requirements

Media Production Lab appointments must be made in advance by calling the lab at (336)750-8689.

Patrons must bring an external hard drive and cables to save any files produced in the lab.

The Research Assistance Desk is located beside the Information Commons desk, on the 1st floor, West Wing of the Library.

Librarians are available to assist individuals who are writing research papers or completing other assignments that require use of library resources such as books, electronic databases, online journal articles and e-books.

Patrons can also contact librarians via phone or through e-mail. Appointments can be scheduled with specific librarians. Librarians work one-on-one with patrons until they have completed their research.

Research Assistance Contact Options:

  • The Information Commons & Research Assistance Desk in O’Kelly Library (First Floor, West Wing)
  • Call a librarian using the Library Staff directory
  • Call (336)750-2454 to speak with a Research Librarian
  • Visit www.wssu.libanswers.com for Ask a Librarian assistance
Loading

Library Contact

Main Office: 336-750-2442

Fax: 336-750-2459

Address:
601 S Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
227 C.G. O'Kelly Library
Winston-Salem, NC 27110


Archives: 336-750-2426

Circulation: 336-750-2449

Info Commons: 336-750-2445

Production Lab: 336-750-8689

Reference: 336-750-2454