IDS 3310 - Native American Studies I - Interdisciplinary Studies - Resources by Subject at C. G. O'Kelly Library

Journals References

American Indian Culture and Research Journal
In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ) is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and the general public. The premier journal in Native American studies, it publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts. It is published by the American Indian Studies Center at the University of California, Los Angeles
American Indians without Tribes in the Twenty-First Century
Among American Indians and Alaska Natives, most aspects of ethnicity are tightly associated with the person's tribal origins. Language, history, foods, land and traditions differ among the hundreds of tribes indigenous to the USA. With this in mind, we ask why almost one million American Indians failed to respond to the tribal affiliation part of the Census 2000 race question. We investigate four hypotheses about why one-third of multiracial American Indians and one-sixth of single-race American Indians did not write any response to the tribal affiliation question
The Consistency and Inconsistency of Cultural Oppression: American Indian Dance Bans, 1900–1933
This article challenges the concept of a monolithic Bureau of Indian Affairs regarding assimilation policy and personnel by examining the rhetoric employed by policy makers to justify the Native American dance bans in the early twentieth century. It also examines the role of superintendents and agents in reinterpreting and implementing dance policy on reservation
American Ethnologist
American Ethnologist is a quarterly journal concerned with ethnology in the broadest sense of the term. The editor welcomes manuscripts that creatively demonstrate the connections between ethnographic specificity and theoretical originality, as well as the ongoing relevance of the ethnographic imagination to the contemporary world.

Books

Keeping the Circle by Christopher Arris Oakley
ISBN: 9780803250697
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Trekking the Shore by Bicho, Nuno F; Davis, Loren G; Haws, Jonathan A;
ISBN: 9781441982186,1441982183
Publication Date: 01/2011
Human settlement has often centered around coastal areas and waterways. Until recently, however, archaeologists believed that marine economies did not develop until the end of the Pleistocene, when the archaeological record begins to have evidence of marine life as part of the human diet.

Databases

North Carolina Digital Heritage
Provides libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and other cultural heritage institutions with the opportunity to promote and increase access to their collections through digitization.

Fold 3 History and Genealogy Archives This link opens in a new window
This resource includes a module specificlly for African American History
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Brings together legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Magazine References

A "Real" American Indian by Kimberly Huyser
Publication Date: 02/2017
As I sat for my portrait in front of the 19th century camera, I realized that I was in slight physical pain. Rarely have I needed to sit perfectly still, holding a pose and facial expression, and trying not to blink--let alone while attempting to balance a nearly one-pound photograph. The photograph was taken on the day I received my Diné name from my great grandmother, and it is a four-generation photo of mother, my grandmother, great grandmother, and myself. As I waited for the aluminum plate to expose, my arms shook, my cheeks muscles quivered, and my eyes burned. I hoped that, despite the discomfort, I was representing my most authentic self--a Diné woman who was proud of her heritage
From the Trenches by Jason M. Urbanus, Malin Grunberg Banyasz, Zach Zorich, Katherine Sharpe, Nikhil Swaminathan, Eric A. Powell, Jarrett A. Lobell, Roger Atwood and Jennifer Pinkowski
Publication Date: 05/2014
The burials of two boys--each found decades ago and thousands of miles apart, but recently subjected to genetic analysis--are helping settle the matter of where the first residents of the Americas came from. A lab at the University of Copenhagen, led by geneticist Eske Willersley, has sequenced the genome of a four-year-old boy whose remains were found near the Siberian village of Mal'ta in the 1920s. Dating back 24,000 years, the boy's DNA was found to be closely related to that of modern Native Americans, suggesting that some of the Mal'ta peoples descendants migrated to the New World.
The Native American voice in United States water rights by Marsh, Karen R; Smith, Michael D
Publication Date: 06/2015
There is a sacred relationship between Native Americans and the environment. The importance of those sacred beliefs in water rights in the United States (US) is examined through a series of case studies. A thorough review of available literature displays a trend toward less dependence on the US for representation and a greater recognition of Native American traditions. The increased role of Native Americans in water rights quantification and resource development provides greater appreciation and understanding of their traditions and beliefs.

Interdisciplinary Studies: IDS 3310 - Native American Studies I

Journals References

Books

Databases

Magazine References