Resources for History Department: Research Databases

Read electronic books from various academic disciplines

Provides access to a variety of content types covering many academic disciplines.

Provides general reference magazines and serials. Useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research.

Provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals.

Search for citations and abstracts relating to social services, psychology and other fields

Search for articles and other resources related to international affairs

Journals and eBook from Springer in biomedical and life sciences. Full-text access is indicated by a green shaded box on the left of the citation.

Fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. Contains from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Search the full collection of slave narratives and other electronic books from ABC-CLIO.

Searhch the full-text edition of this historic newspaper covering 1857-1865.

Access scholary literature from various academic disciplines

Search for articles from all academic disciplines

Access literature and other resources relating to African American history from colonial times to the present

Academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.

Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

Contains full-text scholarly articles dating from the 19th century. Most articles appear 2-5 years after publication. Includes all academic subjects including music.

Access to newspapers, congressional documents and other historical information before, during, and immediately after the Civil War.

Provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Selected full text for national and international newspapers

Delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.

History of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.

Originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.