Skip to main content
Resources by Subject
LLS 1365: Family Matters
Search this Guide
LLS 1365: Family Matters: Home
Library Resources for LLS 1365: Family Matters
O'Kelly Library Catalog
Search Library Databases
Slave Narratives and Ethnic/Cultural Reference Resources
Genealogy Resources at the National Archives
Ask a Librarian
If you have any questions or issues as to how to view or use these videos or if you have any problems linking to the content, Ask a Librarian or contact your librarian liaison.
Download this form or print it. Use this to record your research.
Ancestry Library Edition
Access to census records, public records, newspapers and other genealogy resources
Search census records, some full-text books, and other resources
Fold 3 History and Genealogy Archives
This resource includes a module specificlly for African American History
African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Proquest Historical Black Newspaper Collection
Includes access to the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), and the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)
Provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction (Newspapers)
Access to newspapers, congressional documents and other historical information before, during, and immediately after the Civil War.
O'Kelly Library Reference
1st Floor West
O'Kelly Library Catalog >>
Oct 30, 2018 9:54 AM
Login to LibApps
African American Studies
Liberal Learning Seminars