C.G. O'Kelly LibraryOnline Catalog
This is the "Home" page of the "Career Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career Resources  

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2013 URL: http://wssu.libguides.com/careers Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Things To Consider

When researching a career there are important things to consider:

  • Salary
  • Location
  • Cost of living
  • Duties
  • Experience/Educational requirements
  • Extra training needed
  • Statistics
  • How competitive is the field
  • Room for advancement

 

Useful Links

  • Career Services at Winston-Salem State University
    Link to the Career Services office at WSSU
  • Refworks
    Create a RefWorks account to keep track of your research. Contact a librarian for assistance.
  • Research Assistance
    Schedule a research consultation with a librarian during the planning stages of your research assignment or class project. These sessions can be conducted face to face, by email, online chat sessions, or by phone.
 

WSSU Quick Search (Search All Databases At Once)

Search O'Kelly Library for books, articles and other resources

Search
Advanced Search


Research Databases and Websites for Careers

To search databases for research articles and other resources, you have to have a username and a password. Your username is the beginning of your WSSU email address. Your password is your Banner ID number.

(EXAMPLE) Username: johnson107 (without "@wssu.edu")

Password: Banner ID Number

NOTE: You DO NOT have to be registered in the library to access databases. Registration is required to checkout books.

Career Websites

  • WSSU Career Services
    -Professional Development Tools (Resumes, Cover Letters)
    -Career Fair Resources
    -Career Assessment tools
  • Sarlary.com
    Receive salary information, use a cost of living calculator, view training videos, and more!
  • O*NET OnLine
    Provides awesome Career Exploration Tools! See what careers match with your interest, receive detailed information for a limitless list of occupations, and search for jobs based on your skills.
  • Career Profiles
    Career information and job search resources.
  • Career One Stop
    Your pathway to career success. Tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.
  • City Town Info Career Search
    -Hundreds of employment categories
    -Find top cities for your career
    -Career stories
    -Top industries for your career
  • The Riley Guide
    -Over 1600 helpful web sites
    -Salaries by career area
    -Original articles on topics of interest
    -Search by industry, location, and interest
  • Career TV
    -Specializing in streaming employer branding and career videos across the web
    -Profiles and videos of the most sought-after employers in the world

Articles and eBooks

  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Access news articles, as well as scholarly and reference information on a variety of topics.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    Provides magazine, newspaper and scholarly journal articles in all areas of academic study. Indexing from 1971-present, full text varies by title.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides magazine, newspaper and scholarly journal articles in all areas of academic study. Indexing from 1975-present, full text varies by title

Entrepreneur & Small Business Resources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip