When using the Notes and Bibliography Style of CMS, in-text citations take the form of notes which include a superscripted note number in the text, either at the end of a sentence or clause,1 and a note which has the citation. For footnotes this citation will appear at the bottom of the page and for endnotes this citation will be listed at the end of the paper.
Here is what a footnote looks like:
Footnotes will look similar to their reference counterpart in your bibliography, however, the author's names are listed first name last name and punctuation might vary slightly. Footnote examples are given below bibliography entries for each format type.
The shortened footnote is used when you have already fully cited source in a previous footnote:
If you are citing the same source in an immediately preceding note, you use Ibid to indicate all the parts are identical:
| Printed Book |
Format: Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle. Publication City: Publisher, Date of Publication. Bibliography Entry: Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015. Footnote: 1. Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015), 12. Shortened Footnote: 3. Grazer and Fishman, Curious Mind, 37. |
| Edited Book |
Format: Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Edited by First Name Last Name. City of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. Bibliography Entry: Barker, Heidi Bulmahn. Teachers and the Reform of Elementary Science: Stories of Conversation and Personal Process. Edited by Ian Westbury and Margery D. Osborne. Greenwich, Connecticut: Information Age Publishing, 2004. Footnote: 1. Heidi Bulmahn Barker, Teachers and the Reform of Elementary Science: Stories of Conversation and Personal Process, eds. Ian Westbury & Margery D. Osborne (Greenwich, Connecticut: Information Age Publishing, 2004), 67. Shortened Footnote: 3. Barker, Teachers and the Reform of Elementary Science, 14. |
| Chapter or other part of an edited book |
Format: Last Name, First Name. "Chapter Title." In Title of Book, edited by First Name Last Name, Page Numbers. Publication City: Publisher, Date of Publication. Bibliography Entry: Thoreau, Henry David. "Walking." In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D'Agata, 167-95. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016. Footnote: 1. Henry David Thoreau, "Walking," in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D'Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177-78. Shortened Footnote: 3. Thoreau, "Walking," 182. |
| Translated Book |
Format: Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Translated by First Name Last Name. Publication City: Publisher, Date of Publication. Bibliography Entry: Lahiri, Jhumpa. In Other Words. Translated by Ann Goldstein. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016. Footnote: 1. Jhumpa Lahiri, In Other Words, trans. Ann Goldstein (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016), 146. Shortened Footnote: 3. Lahiri, In Other Words, 184. |
|
Electronic Book |
Format: Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publication City: Publisher, Publication Date. Media Edition. Note: Media edition might be Kindle edition, PDF e-book, Microsoft Reader e-book, Palm e-book, CD-ROM, etc. Bibliography Entry: Borel, Brooke. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016. ProQuest Ebrary. Footnote: 1. Brooke Borel, The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016), 92. ProQuest Ebrary. Shortened Footnote: 3. Borel, Fact-Checking, 104-5. |
| Online Encyclopedia or Dictionary |
NOTE: According to the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (see 14.233), online reference works (dictionaries and encyclopedias) are normally cited in the notes and not in the bibliography. Format: Source (italicize if dictionary or encyclopedia), s.v. "word," Date of Access, URL. Footnote: 1. Merriam-Webster, s.v. "app (n.)," accessed April 6, 2016, http://www.meriam-webster.com/dictionary/app. 2. Wikipedia, s.v. "Stevie Nicks," last modified April 2, 2016, 18:30, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stevie_Nicks. * 3. Grove Music Online, s.v. "Toscanini, Arturo," by David Cairns, accessed April 6, 2016, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/subscriber/article/grove/music/28197. *Since Wikipedia is updated so often, you want to include when the article was last modified when you accessed it. |
| Print Encyclopedia or Dictionary |
NOTE: According to the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (see 14.232), well-known reference books, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, are normally cited just in the notes and not in the bibliography. Majority of other reference works are also cited in to the bibliography with their full publication details. Format: Author Last Name, First Name (if applicable). Title of Work. Edition. Volumes. City of Publication: Publisher, Date of Publication. Bibliography Entry #1: Diccionario de historia de Venezuela. 2nd ed. 4 vols. Caracas: Fundación Polar, 1997. Bibliography Entry #2: Garner, Bryan A. Garner's Modern English Usage. 4th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2016. Footnote: 1. Dictionary of American Biography (1937), s.v. "Wadsworth, Jeremiah." 2. Encyclopaedia Britannica, 15th ed. (1980), s.v. "salvation." |
