Business resources, course guides and help
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2014
- All Databases by Title
O'Kelly's entire collection.
Useful to find databases that may have business related content (such as JSTOR, Academic Search Complete, PsychInfo and others)
- ABI Inform Complete
Searches worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, trade and industry focus, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and more.HOW TO USE VIDEO
- Business Source Complete
Includes articles on marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.HOW TO USE VIDEO
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Search company, country, people and other info.HOW TO USE
- Small Business Resource Center
Provides access to articles, business plans, and other documents relating to research on small businesses.HOW TO USE VIDEO
- Asian Business & Reference
Focuses on business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere. It covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications.HOW TO USE VIDEO
- Health Business Full Text Elite
Provides comprehensive journal content on aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.HOW TO USE VIDEO
- ACM Digital Library
The ACM (Association for Computer Machinery) Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal, newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Search for articles and other resources related to international affairsHOW TO USE VIDEO
- Research Library
Provides access to periodicals from a general perspective; a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering many academic disciplines.HOW TO USE VIDEO
- ISI Web of Knowledge
Provides in-depth tracking to researchers and research topics and back issues to several academic journals.HOW TO USE VIDEO
- Dissertations and Theses
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.HOW TO USE VIDEO
- Business Insights: Global
Case studies, statistical data sources, news articles and academic journals organized by country, company and industry.HOW TO USE
- Hoover's (from D&B)
A more comprehensive list of companies with a company-centric interface.
- Hoovers Company Profiles
Contains detailed records of both private and public companies. Use this from off campus.
- Mergent Business and Government Manuals (online)
Offers an archive of corporate annual, quarterly and interim reports for countries. Contains images of company documents. Provides the ability to search documents by company name, region, country, document type or year of report.
- Mergent Online
Includes information on companies, executives, and industries around the world.HOW TO USE
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Data reports covering stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs.HOW TO USE
- NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's publications)
Provides company, fund and industry research, stocks and bonds info.HOW TO USE
- Simply Map
A tool for developing thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Covered by census block-groups, census tracts, zip codes, cities, counties, states, and the entire United States.
USE INTERNAL WIZARD
- World Development Indicators (WDi Online)
Contains development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS). Also contains, gender stats, health, enterprise surveys and much more. HOW TO USE VIDEO
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium For Political and Social Research)
Data archive of research in the social sciences. Specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and others. Contains a curriculum of courses in research design, statistics, data analysis, and social methodology.
- Crain's Lists
Rankings and listings of businesses by Region/State as well as news items.
- LexisNexis Academic Weiss Stock Research Reports
Timely analyst stock reports.
This video is most useful for the first 1 minute
- Securities & Exchange Commission
Government agency where companies may link their annual reports and SEC filings.
- SIC and NAICS classifications
US Census correspondence tables
- FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Consists of economic data time series from national, international, public, and private sources. Combines data with tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data.
- UN Data
Features country profiles, glossaries, databases and tables containing data point themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
Gathers and disseminates information about every IRS-registered nonprofit organization.
- Access NC
NC Dept of Commerce's economic development resource for businesses seeking to locate and expand.
- American FactFinder
Search interface for finding data from the US Census in the form of maps, tables, and reports.
- CIA World Factbook
Provides info. on history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
- Employment Security Commission of North Carolina
Helps employers find the staff they need to carry out their business, serves as a career resource center for workers at all skill levels and age groups and supplies labor market data to government officials, researchers and others.
European Statistics on economy, population, etc.
Brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today’s global marketplace.
Statistics by subject from the US federal government
- Foreign Governments List
Provides links to the official websites of national governments. Created by Northwestern University Library.
Federal Reserve Archive of Economic History
- O*Net OnLine
Detailed descriptions for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students and researchers.
- Statistical Abstracts
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States
- Statistics of US Business
Provides national and state-level data on numbers of businesses and employees, broken out by industry. Excludes data on self-employed individuals, employees of private households, railroad employees, agricultural production employees, and most government employees.
- U.S. Government Data Site
Find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Provides descriptions of datasets.Video Tutorial
Connects users to all U.S. Government information and services. Searches government information, services, and online transactions. Provides a topical index and links to state and local government, and contacts with government officials.
Free resources for business research including sites, tools and tactics for doing business research.
Contains collections of free sample business plans.
- Business Plans and Profiles Index
Business plans by type of business
- Doing Business
Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 185 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
- Finance Glossary
Campbell R. Harvey's Hypertextual Finance Glossary. Use Find function on page to help you navigate through the site to find the terms you're looking for.
- Google Scholar
An alternative tool to search for articles in O'Kelly Library
- International Trade Centre
Used to scan world market for opportunities to diversify products, markets, and suppliers. A must have for detailed statistical information on international trade flows.
Definitions, glossaries, tutorials and tools.
Great definitions in an easy to browse format.
- List of Lists
Gary Price's List of Lists - Ranked listings of companies, people and resources.
- Marquis Who's Who
Profiles of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and much more.
Career resources from across the U.S.
- Thomas Register
Useful for who makes what by state or company name and downloadable CAD models.
- UNCG Business Resource Collection
Another librarian's view on best resources. Great source
- Yahoo! Finance
News, stocks, bonds, fund and all things finance.
- Zip Code Statistics
Points to resources for finding zip code statistics in various categories like business, education, political and health info by zip code.
- Business Expert Press
Covers business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.
- Business Handbooks (R.K. Miller)
Handbooks that focus on various consumer-related markets.
- Historic Documents Series
Primary source research from documents about the important events of each year for the United States and the world.
- Mcgraw-Hill eBook Library
eBooks in Business chosen by our faculty.
- Springerlink Business And Management Ebooks
Scholarly books, protocols, eReferences, and book series
- Springerlink Economics Ebooks
Scholarly books, protocols, eReferences, and book series
- Find Print Books
Video assists with locating your books by searching the catalog then finding on shelf by call number.
- Call Numbers
Video assists in identifying Library of Congress (how our library is organized) call numbers. View to more easily detmerine where your subject matter is located in our library.
- The Wall Street Journal
Considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
- Access World News
Issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times, The (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)
Provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Regional Business News
Business journals and newspapers covering metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Historical Black Newspaper Collection
Includes Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) and The Baltimore African-American (1893-1988)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Financial Times
For anyone wanting to understand the context of global trade and finance, this database of financial and economic news offers access to articles and features, unbiased financial, economic and political news.
- Noticas Financieras
News service produced in conjunction with publishing organizations in Latin America and provides full-text, real-time financial and business news from Latin America.
- Internet Public Library Newspapers
Local papers in various countries.
- Global Business and Economics in Video
Focuses on the study, analysis, and application of commerce. Includes case studies, documentaries, interviews, biographies, lectures, and instructional videos.
- Business & Economics Video Collection from Films on Demand
Videos from sources such as CNBC, NOVA, BBC, PBS and more.
- Public Health Videos from Films on Demand
A subset of videos in Health and Medicine, relevant to Healthcare Administration/Management
- PBS Video Collection
Full-length documentaries and other videos from the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) and UNC-TV.
- Videos Libguide
All video collections subscribed to by O'Kelly
- Plunkett Research Vlogs
Market research, industry trends analysis, business commentary, and industry statistics.
- Youtube EDU Business Videos
Broad set of educational videos that range from academic lectures to inspirational speeches. Quick lessons from teachers, course lectures from top-tier universities.