Skip to main content

English Resources: MLA Citations

Resources for English

Articles

Journal Article: Retrieved from a Database

Format:

Last name, First name Middle name or initial. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, volume number (vol.), issue number (no.), Publication Date (month year), pages of article (pp.). Database, Location (URL).

 

Example:

Welton, Sharon Aronofsky. “Investigating Early Film and the Nineteenth-CenturyTheatre.” Nineteenth Century Theatre & Film, vol. 42, no. 2, Nov. 2015, pp. 119-123. Literary Reference Center Plus, DOI: 10.1177/1748372716672220.

 

In-Text Citation: (Welton 120)

Online Journal Article

Format:

Last name, First name Middle name or initial. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, volume number (vol.), issue number (no.), Publication Date (month year), pages (pp.), Location (URL).

 

Example: (with no page numbers)

Clark, John. “Hamaya Hiroshi (1915-1999) and Photographic Modernism in Japan.” Trans Asia Photography Review, vol. 7, no. 1, Fall 2016, http://quod.lib.umich.edu/t/tap/7977573.0007.102?view=text;rgn=main.

 

In-Text Citation: (Clark)

Print Journal Article

Format:

Last name, First name Middle name or initial. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, volume number (vol.), issue number (no.), Publication Date (month year), pages (pp.).

 

Example:

Lawler, Daniel O. “The Business of School: Economic Models of Assessment.” The English Journal, vol. 103, no. 1, September 2013, pp. 40-47.

 

In-Text Citation: (Lawler 42)

Online Magazine Article

Format:

Last name, First name Middle name or initial. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine, Publication Date (day month year), Location (URL).

 

Example:

Kissel, Kelly P. “Arkansas Wants to Begin a Series of Executions Before a Key Lethal Injection Sedative Expires.” Time, 16 Apr. 2017, www.time.com/4742063/arkansas-lethal-injection-executions-midazolam/?xid=homepage.

 

In-Text Citation: (Kissel)

Print Magazine Article

Format:

Last name, First name Middle name or initial. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine, Publication Date (day month year), pages (pp.).

 

Example:

Schreier, Lise. “The Adventures of Good Girls: Drawing French Etiquette over the Haitian Revolution.” Transition: The Magazine of Africa and the Diaspora, pp. 50-65.

 

In-Text Citation: (Schreier 56)

Online Newspaper Article

Format:

Last name, First name Middle name or initial (if available). “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper, Publication Date (day month year), Location (URL).

 

Example:

“Russia, Google Reach $7.8 Million Settlement on Android Case.” WRAL, 17 Apr. 2017, www.wral.com/russia-google-reach-7-8-million-settlement-on-android-case/16648414/.

 

In-Text Citation: (“Russia”)

Print Newspaper Article

Format:

Last name, First name Middle name or initial (if available). “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper, Publication Date (day month year), page(s).

 

Example:

Seymour, Ron. “Riders Raise Thousands.” Daily Courier, 15 June 2015, p. A1.

 

In-Text Citation: (Seymour A1)

Printed Material

Print Book

Format:

(One Author):

Last name, First name Middle name or initial. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

 

(Two authors):

Last name, First name Middle name or initial, and Author First Name Last Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

 

(Three or More Authors):

Last name, First name Middle name or initial, et al. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

 

Example:

Hockney, David, and Martin Gayford. A History of Pictures: From the Cave to the Computer Screen. Abrams, 2016.

 

In-Text Citation: (Hockney and Gayford 295)

Edited Book

Format:

Editor Last name, First name Middle name or initial, editor(s). Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

 

Example:

Alessio, Enzo, editor. Bioinorganic Medicinal Chemistry. Wiley-VCH, 2012.

 

In-Text Citation: (Alessio 302)

Chapter in an Edited Book or Work in an Anthology

Format:

Author Last name, First name Middle name or initial. “Title of Chapter.” Title of Book, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, Publisher, Publication Date, Pages (pp.).

 

Example:

Corak, Miles. “Age at Immigration and the Education Outcomes of Children.” Realizing the Potential of Immigrant Youth, edited by Ann S. Masten, et al., Cambridge University Press, 2012, pp. 90-114.

 

In-Text Citation: (Corak 96)

Corporate or Government Publication/Report

Format:

Last name, First name or (if no author is listed) Government Issuing the Document, Agency or Department. Title of Document. Publisher, Publication Date (month year).

 

Example:

United States, Government Accountability Office. Climate Change: EPA and DOE Should Do More to Encourage Progress Under Two Voluntary Programs. Government Printing Office, 2006.

 

In-Text Citation: (United States, Government Accountability Office 24)

 

eBooks

eBook from a Database

Format:

Author Last name, First name Middle name or initial. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date, Title of Database, Location (URL).

 

Example:

Nesbit, Edith. The Book of Dragons. Sheba Blake Publishing, December 2013, ProQuest Ebrary Public Library Complete Collection, site.ebrary.com.courseinfo.wssu.edu:2048/lib/wssuniv/detail.action?docID=10826959.

 

In-Text Citation: (Nesbit 106)

Entry from an Online Reference Work (encyclopedia, dictionary, etc.)

Format:

Author Last name, First name Middle name or initial. “Title of Entry.” Title of Book, Other Contributors (such as editors if applicable), Version (if applicable), Publisher, Publication Date, Title of Online Resource, Location (URL).

 

Example:

Rodgers, David. “Warhol, Andy.” The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke, Oxford University Press, 18 Apr. 2017, www.oxfordartonline.com.courseinfo.wssu.edu:2048/subscriber/article_citations/opr/t118/e2748?q=warhol&search=quick&pos=2&_start=1.

 

In-Text Citation: (Rodgers)

 

Other Online Resources

Entire Website

Format:

Author Last name, First name Middle name or initial. Title of Website. Publisher (if applicable), Date of Creation, Location (URL). Date of Access (if applicable).

 

Example:

English. Winston-Salem State University, 2017, https://www.wssu.edu/admissions/programs/english.html.

 

In-Text Citation: (English)

Page of a Website

Format:

Author Last name, First name Middle name or initial. “Title of Web page, posting or article.” Title of Website, Publisher (if applicable), Date of Creation, Location (URL). Date of Access.

 

Example:

“A Quick Guide to Reading Shakespeare.” Shakespeare Resource Center, www.bardweb.net/content/ac/shakesreader.html. Accessed 18 April 2017.

 

In-Text Citation: (“A Quick Guide”)

Comment on a Website or Online Article

Format:

Author Last name, First name Middle name or initial (or Username). “Title of Web page, posting or article.” Title of Website, Publisher (if applicable), Publication Date, Time of Comment, Location (URL). Date of Access.

 

Example:

Bogaerts, Xander. “Editorial: How the ‘Family Values Legislature’ is Destroying Families.” WRAL, 18 April 2017, 1:06 p.m., www.wral.com/editorial-how-the-family-values-legislature-is-destroying-families/16649712/. Accessed 18 April 2017.

 

In-Text Citation: (Bogaerts)

YouTube Video

Format:

Creator's Last name, First name Middle name or initial (or Username). “Title of Film or Video.” Title of Website, role of contributors and their First name Last name, Publication Date, Location (URL).

 

Example:

Health Equity Institute. “What is Health Equity?” YouTube, 2 Dec. 2014, www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPVwgnp3dAc.

 

In-Text Citation: (Health Equity Institute)
Tweet from Twitter

Format:

Author Last name, First name Middle name or initial (or Username). “Tweet in its entirety.” Title of Website, Publication Date, Publication Time, Location (URL).

 

Example:

Forbes. “Sallie Krawcheck on the lack of diversity in Wall Street, why women should invest more and how she wants to make that happen.” Twitter, 18 Apr. 2017, 1:00 p.m., twitter.com/Forbes/status/854424314921181184.

 

In-Text Citation: (Forbes)

 

Works of Art

Painting, Sculpture, Photograph

Format:

Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork, medium, Institution, Location of Institution (if not in name of Institution).

 

Example:

Biggers, John. Ascension, oil on canvas, Winston-Salem State University.

 

In-Text Citation: (Biggers)

Song or Album

Format:

Artist’s Name. “Song Title.” Album Title, Record Label, Release Date, Database, Location (URL).

 

Example:

Disclosure. “Second Chance.” Settle, Universal Island Records, 2013, Spotify, open.spotify.com/album/1ZFGRj11NnZHos8DUbbpF1.

 

In-Text Citation: (Disclosure)

Film or Movie

Format:

Title of Film. Directed by Director First Name Last Name, performances by Actor First Name Last Name, Film Studio or Distributor, Year.

Note: With films, you if you want to highlight certain persons involved (such as the director or performer), you can list them before the title as an author. Just include people who are important and relevant.

 

Example:

Fight Club. Directed by David Fincher, performances by Brad Pitt and Edward Norton, Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation, 1999.

Fincher, David, director. Fight Club. Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation, 1999.

 

In-Text Citation: (Fight Club)