Last Updated: Apr 10, 2012
Create a RefWorks account to keep track of your research. Contact a librarian for assistance.
- Research Assistance
Schedule a research consultation with a librarian during the planning stages of your research assignment or class project. These sessions can be conducted face to face, by email, online chat sessions, or by phone.
- Access World News (NewsBank)
Access newspapers, news magazines, and radio/television transcripts - including North Carolina newspapers.
- ProQuest Black Historical Newspapers
Includes access to the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), and the New York Amsterdam News ((1922-1993)
- Newspaper Source via EBSCOhost
Access national and international newspapers and other news sources
- New York Times and Index, Historical (1851-2006) w/ Index (1851-1993)
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851-1993
- Wall Street Journal (from ProQuest Newsstand)
Search current and past issues of the Wall Street Journal
- North Carolina Community Newspapers
Access newspapers from across North Carolina
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Search national and international news as well as academic sources
- International Index of Black Periodicals
Selected newspapers, magazines, and other periodicals in the area of African American studies
- AP (Associated Press) Images
Search for texts, images, and listen to the sounds of national and international news from the Associated Press (AP)
- New York Amsterdam News, Historical (1922-1993)
Full-text access to the New York Amsterdam News, an African American newspaper, from 1922-1993
- Baltimore Afro American, Historical (1893-1988)
Full-text access to Baltimore Afro American from 1893-1988. The Baltimore Afro American is a part of the ProQuest Black Historical Newspaper collection.
- Los Angeles Sentinel, Historical (1934-2005)
Full-text access to the Los Angeles Sentinel from 1934-2005. The Los Angeles Sentinel is a part of the ProQuest Black Historical Newspaper collection.
- Chicago Defender, Historical (1910 - 1975)
Full-text access to the Chicago Defender from 1910-1975. The Chicago Defender is a part of the ProQuest Black Historical Newspaper collection.