Welcome

Comments (0)
Course Pages
Link to LibGuides created for specific courses
- Overview of the Music Industry
- Naxos Video LibraryLectures, concerts, documentaries, and other streaming videos from the performing arts.
Other Useful Links
- Web EvaluationLearn the criteria for deciding which websites have reliable information.
- Search TipsHelp with searching the online catalog and electronic databases.
- RefworksCreate a RefWorks account to keep track of your research. Contact a librarian for assistance
- Research AssistanceSchedule a research consultation with a librarian during the planning stages of your research assignment or class project. These sessions can be conducted face to face, by email, online chat sessions, or by phone.
- Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary Loan is a service provided by O'Kelly Library that assists you in obtaining materials we do not have from other libraries. It takes from 3 - 10 business days to receive materials after requesting them. Click on the link below to request an item online or visit us at the library for assistance.
- Citation StylesResources for various citation styles, including MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, etc.
Credible Music Websites
- allmusicContains reviews, free previews, bibliographies, and band influences, followers, and similar artists.
- Worldwide Internet Music ResourcesSelected music research links from Indiana University's William and Gayle Cook Music Library.
Research Databases (Find articles, eBooks, and other resources)
- Oxford Music Online (Formerly Grove Music Online)
Contains full text articles on all aspects of music including biographies of musicians and thier works. Please use wssurams as the username and password to access Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove Music Online) from off campus. - African American Music ReferenceContains 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression
- Music OnlineA comprehensive database of streaming audio, video, reference, and scores that allows users to cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press.
- JSTOR
Contains full-text scholarly articles dating from the 19th century. Most articles appear 2-5 years after publication. Includes all academic subjects including music. - Project Muse
Provides full-text “scholarly” articles from the social sciences and humanities including music.
Streaming Video
- Naxos Video LibraryLectures, concerts, documentaries, and other streaming videos from the performing arts.
- Films on Demand - (Dance and Music)Online videos related to Music and Dance
- Films on Demand - (Art and Architecture)Online videos related to Art and Architecture.
Research Databases for Streaming Music
- Classical Music Library
Listen to classical compositions and get background information on the music as well. - American Song (Includes the former AFRICAN AMERICAN SONG)
Listen to music from distinctly American music genres. - Naxos Music Library
Access sound files from classical music and other traditions. - Contemporary World MusicListen to international contemporary music.
- Smithsonian Global SoundStreaming music that includes an encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Research Database for Sheet Music
- Classical Scores LibraryContain 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 15,000 scores.
My Profile |
Contact Info 601 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. 205 C.G. O'Kelly Library (336) 750-2453 (336) 750-2459 fax Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Streaming Video
Give these documentaries a try.
- PBS Video Collection - Arts
Includes films on art and music from award winning documentarian Ken Burns, and series such as Scientific American Frontiers, American Experience, and Frontline. Require Adobe Flash Player Version 9.0 or higher.



Loading...
