Research and Writing Toolbox
- Citation Styles Libguide - APA, MLA, etc
- Plagiarism
- Example of a Research-Based Abstract
- Parts of a citationExample ONLY- Information to cite a book, article, and web citation. NOT IN CITATION STYLE ORDER! Above this link is another link, How to Read a Citation - onYouTube!
- How to Read a Citation - on YouTube

- How to write a Literature Review
- Sample Literature Review on Student Homelessness
- Defining and designing a case study
- Definition & Example of an Annotated Bibliography
*NEW* Definition & Example of an Annotated Bibliography - How to Narrow Your Topic!

- How to Refine Your Topic!
Your topic can also be TOO Narrow. Use these tips! - Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
FEATURES of a scholarly article - in the box below labeled "Documents & Power Points". - What is a "credible" website?
- Peer reviewed OR refereed journal- Description and PurposeAsk a librarian for assistance with Ulrich's Directory to identify these journals!
- What is the difference between a database and the Internet?
- Where to locate a book, DVD, textbook, etc.
Comments (0)
Documents & Power Points
The BEST keywords yield the BEST results! Contact me for help.
Welcome!!!
Education & Education-Related Databases
IMPORTANT NOTE – accessing electronic databases from "anywhere off-campus" – requires your email username and password!
Students – username WITHOUT @rams.wssu.edu and password with NO spaces or dashes.
Faculty & Staff – username WITHOUT @wssu.edu and password with NO spaces or dashes.
- Education Full Text

- Education Research Complete

- ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)

- ERIC Thesaurus
The Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors - look here for the "best" education terminology to use for your search. - Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Look up teaching as a career! - Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The database provides a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. - Opposing Viewpoints
One-stop searching for PRO/CON books and articles on controversial issues! - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
"Some" FULL TEXT dissertations and theses are searchable in this database. - ProQuest Education Journals

- PsycARTICLES
ONLY contains scholarly articles for education psychology subject matter. - PsycINFO
Scholarly articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. - SAGE Journals Online (NEW title for "combined" SAGE database)
New database contains Communications, EDUCATION, and Criminology. - Teacher Resource Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. - Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database - but covers education very well. - JSTOR
A multidisciplinary database - but covers education very well. - Physical Education Index
Searches for historical abstracts, citations, and linked full-text resources from the area of Physical Education. - SportDiscus
SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, with coverage of sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, disabled persons, physical fitness, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health and more
Your Education Links
- National Association for the Education of Young Children

- National Association for the Education of Young Children (North Carolina)
North Carolina affiliates of NAEYC - National Association of Kinesiology & Physical Education in HIgher Education

- NCAE- North Carolina Association of Educators
- NCATE - National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education
- NEA - National Education Association
- North Carolina Standard Course of Study
Determines competencies for each grade level and each high school course, with a rigorous set of academic standards that is uniform across the state. - Teaching Positions in North Carolina
- The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. - The National Rehabilitation Association (NRA)The National Rehabilitation Association (NRA) is a member organization that promotes ethical and state of the art practice in rehabilitation with the goal of the personal and economic independence of persons with disabilities.
- The PRAXIS Series

- U. S. Department of EducationA descriptive list of public and private Educational Associations and Organizations.
- Follettshelf eBooks
Username: follett
Password: read - Sylvan eBooks

Subject Guide |
Contact Info 113 O'Kelly Library (At Information Commons) By appointment only @ millervs@wssu.edu or Telephone: 336-750-2986 Send Email Subjects: Education |
WSSU Links
- Blackboard

- Library Hours
- Ulrich's Web
To find peer-reviewed OR refereed journal titles - Interlibrary Loan
- Journal & E-Book Titles
- Library Catalog
- Library Webpage
- Current WSSU Students
- WSSU Web Page
- Other Libguides by Subject



Loading...
