Resources by Subject: Art Resources: Home

Find Images

Art Images for College Teaching
A free site developed to share art images with the educational community.

Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains images from art museums and cultural institutions from around the world.

Diggs Gallery at WSSU

Diggs Gallery is located in the lower level of the O'Kelly Library. Diggs Gallery is free and open to the public Tuesday-Saturday, 11am-5pm.

Research and Writing Resources

MLA 9th Edition
This is a formatting and style guide for the MLA 9th edition by Purdue Owl.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-22

Chicago Manual of Style (online) This link opens in a new window
The complete Chicago Manual of Style online through the library at Winston-Salem State University

Writing an Art History Paper
This documents details out some of the basic ways to write about art as outlined by the Nesbitt-Johnston Writing Center at Hamilton College.

Art Databases

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles, abstracts, and art reproduction covering many topics from fine, decorative, and commercial art to photography, film, and architecture.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Oxford art reference content which has entries on artists, styles, movements, geography, time periods, and images.
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text art journals, magazines, trade publications and books.
Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text scholarly articles dating from the 19th century. Most articles appear 2-5 years after publication. Includes all academic subjects including music.

Films on Demand - (Art and Architecture)
Online videos related to Art and Architecture.

Websites

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents the Met's collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. The Timeline comprises more than 1,000 essays, 7,600 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords that categorize art movement and style, artists, geography, time period, material, and subject matter.

Google Arts & Culture

Google Arts & Culture has collaborated with over 1,200 international museums, galleries, and institutions to make their exhibits virtually available. Explore artworks, discover collections, take virtual tours of museums

Art History Resources

Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe has compiled extensive lists of links to resources for all areas of art history.

Khan Academy

Khan Academy has a growing collection of videos and essays on engaging art history topics and content.

Research Databases (Find articles, eBooks, and other resources)

Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a variety of content types covering many academic disciplines.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Contains multidisciplinary scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, scholarly articles on digital humanities and social science topics from many of the leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search for newspaper articles related to artists, especially those that are locally known and might not have too much research done on their art.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Connects you to more than 10,000 library collections.

Ask Me

AlTonya Washington

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Art, Citation Styles, English, Exercise Physiology, Film, Music, Physical Education & Human Performance and Sports Studies, Plagiarism, Reference, World Languages, Writing

Art Resources: Home

Welcome