MSN Research: APA Citing Examples- Journal Articles

Online Journal without a DOI Reference 

In-Text Citation

 Author, M. M. (Year of Publication). Title of the article. Journal Title,

     volume(issue number), print page numbers. Retrieved from [URL]

 Simkins, M. M. (2015). Understanding the benefits of Quality

     Matters. Research Instruction Integration, 21(9), 317-325.

    Retrieved from https://pantherfile.uwm.edu/simonec/public/article.pdf

 Note- for Article URL:

  Free: give the exact URL. (See example above)

  Subscription: provide the URL from the journal's home page.

  Electronic database: provide name of database where article

  was retrieved. Ex: Retrieved from Proquest database.

 (Simkins, 2015)

 Or

 Simpkins (2015) 

Reference Format

In-Text Citation

Author, M. (Year of Publication). Title of the article. Journal Title,  

   volume, print page numbers.

 Hunt, F. (2014). More hands on information literacy activities. 

   Library Science Quarterly, 23, 42-51.

 (Hunt, 2014)

 Or

 Hunt (2014)

Reference Format

In-Text Citation

Author, M. Z. (Year of Publication). Title of the article. Journal Title,  

   volume(issue), print page numbers.

 Shells, M.Z. (2014). Instructional design for librarians. 

   Library Science Quarterly, 23(5), 42-51.

 (Shells, 2014)

 Or

 Shells (2014)

Newspaper Articles and News Wires from Databases

In-Text Citation

 Author, M. (Year of publication, and day). Title of the newspaper

     article. Title of the Newspaper. Retrieved from name of database.

 Livas, M. (2014, May 15). Preparing for your library career. 

    The New York Times. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis database.  

(Livas, 2014)

JOURNAL- THREE - FIVE AUTHORS

IN-TEXT CITATION

 Author, M. M., Author, N.N., Author, O.O., Author, P.P., & Author,

     Q.Q. (Year of Publication). Title of article. Journal Title, volume(issue

     number), print page numbers.  Retrieved from database name or

     doi:xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

       Brent, W.C., Miles, M. J., Cooper, N.N., Davis, O.O., & Echo, M. (2015).

           Instructional design for Nursing. Instructional Design Journal,

           15, 35-42.

           Retrieved    

           from http://link.springer.com/article/10.1023/A:1022193728205

 For the first in-text citation, cite all of the  authors. 

 (Brent, Miles, Cooper, Davis & Echo, 2015.)

 Or

 Brent, Miles, Cooper, Davis and Echo stated...

 For subsequent in-text citations, cite the  first author followed by et al. 

 (Brent et al., 2015) 

 Or

 Brent et al.  (2015) 

JOURNAL- SIX - SEVEN AUTHORS

IN-TEXT CITATION

 Author, M. M., Author, N.N., Author, O.O., Author, P.P., Author, Q. Q.,

     Author, R. R., & Author, S.S. (Year of Publication).

    Title of article. Journal Title, volume(issue number), print page numbers.  

    Retrieved from database name or doi:xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

       Brent, W.C., Miles, M. J., Cooper, N.N., Davis, O.O., Smalz, P., Masters,

            W.T., & Appleside, T.J. (2015).

           Instructional design for Physiology. Instructional Design Journal,

           15(6), 35-42. Retrieved from Ebscohost database.

 (Brent et al., 2015)

 Or

 Brent et al. (2015) 

EIGHT OR MORE AUTHORS

IN-TEXT CITATION

 Author, A. A., Author, B.B., Author, H.H., Author, F.G., Author, H.,

     Author, I., . . . Last Authors Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. 

    (Year of Publication).

    Title of article. Journal Title, volume(issue number), print page numbers.  

    Retrieved from database name or doi:xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

       Brent, W.C., Miles, M. J., Cooper, N.N., Davis, O.O., Smalz, P., Masters,

            W.T., . . . Appleside, T.J. (2015).  Instructional design for Physiology. 

I               Instructional Design Journal,

                 15(6), 35-42. doi:10.1177/0893318912439474

 (Brent et al., 2015)

 Or

 Brent et al. (2015)