Skip to Main Content

MSN Research: APA Citing Examples: Newspapers, Magazines, Blogs, Websites and Videos

This is a research guide for nursing students.

Newspapers

 

 

Newspaper Articles from Databases

In-Text Citation

 Author, M. L.  (Year of publication, and day). Title of article. 

     Newspaper title, page number(s) preceded by p. or pp.. Retrieved  

     from [name of database] 

 Livas, M. (2014, May 15). Using Prezi for library activities.  

    The New York Times, p.12. Retrieved from 

    Lexis-Nexis database

 Note: If the newspaper article has a DOI assigned, follow this example:

  Livas, M. (2015, May 15). Using Prezi for library activities. The New York  

     Times, p. 12 doi:10.1002/pfi.4140440211

 (Livas, 2014)

 Or

 Livas (2006)

 
 

Newspaper Article from Website

In-Text Citation

 Author, M. L.  (Year of publication, and day). Title of article. 

     Newspaper title, page number(s) preceded by p. or pp. Retrieved  

     from [URL from website menu page] 

 Livas, M. (2014, May 15). Using Prezi for library activities.  

    The New York Times, p.12. Retrieved from 

     Lexis-Nexis database

 Note: If the newspaper article has a DOI assigned, follow this example:

  Livas, M. (2015, May 15). Using Prezi for library activities. The New York  

     Times, p. 12 doi:10.1002/pfi.4140440211

 (Livas, 2014)

 Or

 Livas (2006)

 

 
 

Print Newspaper Article

In-Text Citation

 Author, M. L.  (Year of publication, and day). Title of article. 

     Newspaper title, page number(s) preceded by p. or pp.

 Kelly, G.R. (2015, June 5). Trending instructional design activities.  

    The Washington Post, pp.18, 20.

 (Kelly, 2014)

Or

 Kelly (2006)
 

Newspaper Articles- Unknown Author

In-Text Citation

 Title of article. (Year of publication, and day).  Newspaper title, page

     number(s) preceded by p. or pp. ​

 Understanding instructional design. (2011, December 12).  

    Boston Globe, p.A10. 

 (Livas, 2014)

 Or

 Livas (2006)

Magazines

MAGAZINE- DATABASE IN-TEXT CITATION:

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article. Magazine Title,volume (issue if available), page numbers. Retrieved from [name of database]

Lacy, A. (2013, March 7). Using social media to enhance public education on water usage. Time, 26(2), 13. Retrieved from Proquest Newspaper Source Database

 

(Lacy, 2013)

Or:

Lacy (2013)
MAGAZINE- ONLINE WEBSITE IN-TEXT CITATION:

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article. Magazine Title,volume, page numbers. Retrieved from [URL from website]

Brow, W. (2015, February 8). Using social media to create flipped classroom activities. Faculty Focus Magazine, 75(15), 13. Retrieved from http://facultyfocus.org

 

(Brow, 2015)

Or:

Brow (2015)
MAGAZINE- PRINT IN-TEXT CITATION:

Author, A. A. (Full Date of Publication). Title of article. Magazine Title,volume, page numbers.

Sandleford, C. (2006, September 18). Social media tools for the classroom.

     Education Magazine, 68, 13-17.

 

(Sandleford, 2015)

Or:

Sandleford (2015)

Websites, Blogs, and Videos

WEBSITE REFERENCE LIST IN-TEXT CITATION

Author, A. A. (Date of Posting/Revision). Title of website. Retrieved from [URL]

Department of Defense, United States Government. (2015). Comprehensive immigration reform. Retrieved from http://www.whitehouse.gov/infocus/immigration/

Notes:

  • The author for a website may be a person's name, or a company or institution.
  • When the Date of Posting/Revision is not available, use (n.d.).

(Department of Defense, United States Government, 2015)

Or:

Department of Defense (2015)
WEBSITE-NO AUTHOR  IN-TEXT CITATION

Title of Website. (Date of Posting/Revision). Retrieved from [URL]

Social media: Is it making us lazy? (2015).  Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0007681311000061

Note:

     When the Date of Posting/Revision is not available, use (n.d.).

("Social Media", 2015)
BLOG POSTING IN-TEXT CITATION

Author, A. A. (Date of Posting). Title of blog post [Blog post]. Retrieved from [URL]

Timbers, N. (2011, February 9). How different types of museums approach participation [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://museumtwo.blogspot.com 

(Timbers, 2011)
ONLINE VIDEO FROM DATABASE IN-TEXT CITATION

Name of Producer (Producer). (Year published). Title of Video. [Video file]. Retrieved from name of database.

Fitne (Producer). (2015). Jean Watson, A Theory of Human Caring [Video file]. Retrieved from Fitne http://www.fitne.net.courseinfo.wssu.edu:2048/vlrc/user/user-program-index.jsp

 

 (Fitne , 2015)