Resources by Subject: Citation Styles: APA Books and eBooks

To go back to main APA page:

In-Text Citations

The following are a list of the different ways you can format your in-text citation:

Author’s name in text (no page number):
Cassell and Jenkins (2000) compared reaction times. . .

Author’s name in reference (no page number):
In a recent study of reaction times (Cassell & Jenkins, 2000). . .

Author’s name in text (page number):
According to Cuno (2008), “For years, archaeologists have lobbied for national and international laws, treaties, and conventions to prohibit the international movement of antiquities” (p. 1).

Author’s name in reference (page number):
The argument runs that, “The term 'Czechoslovak' had become a rich source of contention almost immediately after the state's formation” (Innes, 2001, p. 16).

No known author:
A similar study was done of students learning to format a research paper ("Using APA." 2001).

Use an abbreviated version of the title of the page in quotation marks to substitute for the name of the author

No known author or date:
In another study of students and research decision, it was discovered that students succeeded with tutoring ("Tutoring and APA," n.d).

Use the first few words from the title and the abbreviation n.d. ("no date")

Book and eBook Citations (7th Edition)

Print Book (7th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. (Date of publication). Title of work: Subtitle. Publisher. Example: Noddings, N., & Brooks, L. (2017). Teaching controversial issues: The case for critical thinking and moral commitment in the classroom. Teachers College Press. In-Text Citation: (Noddings & Brooks, 2017, p. xx)
Edited Book (7th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. (Date of publication). Title: Subtitle. (A. A. Editor, Ed.). Publisher. Example: Wordsworth, W. (1958). Selected poems of William Wordsworth. (R. Sharrock, Ed.). The MacMillan Company. In-Text Citation: (Wordsworth, 1958, p. xx).
Chapter or other part of an Edited Book (7th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (edition, pages of chapter). Publisher. NOTE: Author should be the person who wrote the CHAPTER you are citing from. Example: Jelly, S. (1985). Helping children raise questions — and answering them. In W. Harlen (Ed.), Primary science: Taking the plunge: How to teach primary science more effectively (pp. 47-57). Heinemann Educational. In-Text Citation: (Jelly, 1985, pp. 53)
Translated Book (7th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. & Author, B. B. (Date of Publication). Title of Book. (A. A. Last Name, Trans.; edition of book, if available). Publisher. (Original work publication date). Example: Laplace, P. S. (1951). A philosophical essay on probabilities. (F. W. Truscott & F. L. Emory, Trans.). Dover. (Original work published 1814). In-Text Citation: (Laplace, 1814/1951, pp. 3)
Electronic Book (eBook) (7th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. (Date of publication). Title of work: Subtitle. Publisher. URL. Example: Perkins, A. G. (2019). Yale needs women: How the first group of girls rewrote the rules of an ivy league giant. Sourcebooks. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07T7YHYXS/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_U_x_xM4fEb83091B1 In-Text Citation: (Perkins, 2019, p. xx)
Online Encyclopedia or Dictionary (7th Edition)	Format: Name of Encyclopedia or Dictionary. (n.d.). Word or phrase. In Encyclopedia or Dictionary title. Retrieval date, from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url Example: Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Intersectionality. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved January 9, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/intersectionality In-Text Citation: When thinking the persistence of inequalities, it is better to think of them as overlapping or connected rather than isolated (Intersectionality, n.d.).
Print Encyclopedia or Dictionary (7th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. (Year). Word. In Title of encyclopedia. (Volume number, page range). Publisher. Example: González, J. M. (2008). Container theory of language. In Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education. (Vol. 1, pp.171-173). SAGE Reference Publication. In-Text Citation: (González, 2008, p.171) Sir Lewis is known to be in charge of a great household, or otherwise known as a princely estate (Major-domo, 1988).

Books and eBooks Citation (6th Edition)

Print Book (6th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. (Date of publication). Title of work: Subtitle. Location: Publisher. Example: Noddings, N., & Brooks, L. (2017). Teaching controversial issues: The case for critical thinking and moral commitment in the classroom. New York, NY: Teachers College Press. In-Text Citation: (Noddings & Brooks, 2017, p. xx)
Edited Book (6th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. (Date of publication). Title: Subtitle. A. A. Editor (Ed.). Location: Publisher. Example: Elstgeest, J., Harlen, W., Jelly, S., Osborne, R., & Symington, D. (1985). W. Harlen (Ed.). Oxford, England: Heinemann Educational. In-Text Citation: (Elstgeest, Harlen, Jelly, Osborne, & Symington, 1985, p. xx).
Chapter or other part of an Edited Book (6th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of chapter. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pages of chapter). Location: Publisher. NOTE: Author should be the person who wrote the CHAPTER you are citing from. Example: Jelly, S. (1985). Helping children raise questions — and answering them. In W. Harlen (Ed.), Primary science: Taking the plunge: How to teach primary science more effectively (pp. 47-57). Oxford, England: Heinemann Educational. In-Text Citation: (Jelly, 1985, pp. 53)
Translated Book (6th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. & Author, B. B. (Date of Publication). Title of Book. (A. A. Last Name, Trans.). Location: Publisher. (Original work publication date). Example: Laplace, P. S. (1951). A philosophical essay on probabilities. (F. W. Truscott & F. L. Emory, Trans.). New York, NY: Dover. (Original work published 1814). In-Text Citation: (Laplace, 1814/1951, pp. 3)
Electronic Book (eBook) (6th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. (Date of publication). Title of work: Subtitle. Retrieved from URL Example: O'Dea, J. A. (2012). Current issues and controversies in school and community health, sport and physical education. Retrieved from http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/wssuniv-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3021958 In-Text Citation: (O'Dea, 2012, p. xx)
Online Encyclopedia or Dictionary (6th Edition)	Format: Word or phrase. (n.d.) In Encyclopedia or Dictionary title. Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url Example: Intersectionality. (n.d.) In Merriam-Webster Dictionary online. Retrieved from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/intersectionality In-Text Citation: When thinking the persistence of inequalities, it is better to think of them as overlapping or connected rather than isolated (Intersectionality, n.d.).
Print Encyclopedia or Dictionary (6th Edition)	Format: Author, A. A. (Year). Word. In Title of encyclopedia. (Volume number, page range). Location: Publisher. Example: González, J. M. (2008). Container theory of language. In Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education. (Vol. 1, pp.171-173). Los Angles, CA: SAGE Reference Publication. In-Text Citation: (González, 2008, p.171) Sir Lewis is known to be in charge of a great household, or otherwise known as a princely estate (Major-domo, 1988).