When using the Notes and Bibliography Style of CMS, in-text citations take the form of notes which include a superscripted note number in the text, either at the end of a sentence or clause,1 and a note which has the citation. For footnotes this citation will appear at the bottom of the page and for endnotes this citation will be listed at the end of the paper.
Here is what a footnote looks like:
Footnotes will look similar to their reference counterpart in your bibliography, however, the author's names are listed first name last name and punctuation might vary slightly. Footnote examples are given below bibliography entries for each format type.
The shortened footnote is used when you have already fully cited source in a previous footnote:
If you are citing the same source in an immediately preceding note, you use Ibid to indicate all the parts are identical:
| Interview |
Format: Interviewee Last Name, Interviewee First Name. "Title of Interview." Interview by Interviewer First Name Last Name. Publication Title, Date of Publication. Bibliography Entry: Stamper, Kory. "From 'F-Bomb' to 'Photobomb,' How the Dictionary Keeps up with English." Interview by Terry Gross. Fresh Air, NPR, April 19, 2017. Audio, 35:25. http://www.npr.org/2017/04/19/524618639/from-f-bomb-to-photobomb-how-the-dictionary-keeps-up-with-english. Footnote: 1. Kory Stamper, "From 'F-bomb' to 'Photobomb,' How the Dictionary Keeps Up with English," interview by Terry Gross, Fresh Air, NPR, April 19, 2017, audio, 35:25, http://www.npr.org/2017/04/19/524618639/from-f-bomb-to-photobomb-how-the-dictionary-keeps-up-with-english. Shortened Footnote: 3. Stamper, interview. |
| Thesis or Dissertation |
Format: Last Name, First Name. "Title of Thesis/Dissertation." Format, Publisher, Date of Publication. Bibliography Entry: Rutz, Cynthia Lillian. "King Lear and Its Folktale Analogues." PhD diss., University of Chicago, 2013. Footnote: 1. Cynthia Lillian Rutz, "King Lear and Its Folktale Analogues" (PhD diss., University of Chicago, 2013), 99-100. Shortened Footnote: 3. Rutz, "King Lear," 158. |
| Website |
Format: Author. "Title of Webpage." Website Name. Last modified Date. URL. Bibliography Entry: Google. "Privacy Policy." Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/. Footnote: 1. "Privacy Policy," Privacy & Terms, Google, last modified April 17, 2017, https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/. Shortened Footnote: 3. Google, "Privacy Policy." |
| Social Media Content |
Format: Author. "160 Characters of the Post." Social Media Outlet, Date. URL. Bibliography Entry: Chicago Manual of Style. "Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993." Facebook, April 17, 2015. https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151. Footnote: 1. Chicago Manual of Style, "Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993," Facebook, April 17, 2015, https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906 193679151. Shortened Footnote: 3. Michele Truty, April 17, 2015, 1:09p.m., comment on Chicago Manual of Style, "singular they." |
